History was made at the Pietermaritzburg City Hall on Monday morning when the Msunduzi Municipality signed a R36 Million partnership agreement with the “Team of Choice”, Maritzburg United over the next three years.

The deal that was signed comes at the back of a similar offer that was made by the Nelson Mandela Bay Metro to Maritzburg United recently to relocate the club to the Eastern Cape. Msunduzi Municipality moved swiftly to ensure that the Team of Choice stayed in Pietermaritzburg, and in KZN. Had Maritzburg United departed, it woud have meant that there is only one team in Kwazulu Natal playing in the Premier Soccer League.

The agreement comes as a huge relief to the Club, who are without a major title sponsor ever since gaining promotion to the Premier Soccer League in 2007. The Mayor of Msunduzi Municipality, Cllr Chris Ndlela said “We hope that this will set the tone for other Municipalities to create partnerships like we have done.

"We have set conditions for the club , including that they must not be relegated”. He continued and said, “We are looking forward to a much improved performance from the club, and people like watching players they can identify with, coming from their city.”

The City’s logo Will be displayed on the left sleeve of the clubs home and away kits.

The Chairman of Maritzburg United, Farook Kadodia, was delighted with the partnership, thanking the Mayor for his leadership and encouraged the business sector to take advantage of available opportunities to partner with or to sponsor the club.

“It was always going to be a very difficult decision to leave Pietermaritzburg. We are passionate about our City. We live here, we have businesses here and our families are here”, said the Chairman, referring to the Nelson Mandela Bay Metro offer.

Head Coach Steve Komphela advised the players and said:

”You are now not ambassadors of the Club only, but also of the City of Choice. You must be responsible, because this is your City”. He then introduced the new members of the Technical Team as well as the players, before the new kit for the season was unveiled.

The Full List of Players and Technical Staff are as follows;


Shuaib Walters 1
Virgil Vries 30
Tawfeeq Salie 31


Kwanda Mngonyama 5
John Paintsil 4
Veluyeke Zulu 34
Mohammed Awal 15
Ryan De Jongh 18
Tshepo Moloto 2
Abel Mabaso 39
David Booysen 14
Thabang Matuka 29
Khumbulani Banda 3


Thamsanqa Mkhize 27
Sibusiso Khumalo 6
Ashley Hartog 25
Philani Zulu 23
Menzi Chili 35
Morgan Van Rooyen 8
Bandile Shandu 26
Kurt Lenjties 29
Nhlanhla Vilakazi 10
Mpakamiseni Nene 16
Mondli Cele 24
Deolin Mekoa 28
Thokozani Sekotlong 7
Sheldon Van Wyk 12


Terrance Mandaza 19
Mohammed Anas 9
Sandile Dlamini 17
Mohau Mokate 22
Ayanda Nkosi 21

Technical Team

Steve Komphela – Head Coach
Mandla Ncikazi – Assistant Coach
Paulo Mathura – Goal Keeper Coach
Marco Munhoz- Fitness Trainer
Garth Oliver – Physiotherapist
Zola Luthuli – Kit Manager
Mario Marsha – Performance Analyst

6 August 2014